adira vs luminance
Adira vs Luminance: An Honest Comparison (2026)
Searching "Adira vs Luminance" usually means one of two things: a due-diligence or M&A team already has Luminance on the shortlist and wants to know what it does not cover, or an in-house team wants full-lifecycle drafting and execution and is checking whether a review-first platform like Luminance stretches that far. This page is published by Adira, a contract lifecycle platform that competes with Luminance for part of this market, disclosed upfront. What follows is written to be fair to Luminance regardless: it is a genuinely strong, purpose-built AI platform for contract analysis and due diligence, used by over 1,000 organisations across 70 countries, including all of the Big Four consultancy firms and more than a quarter of the Global Top 100 law firms, and this page will not pretend Adira matches that specific strength. "Which is better" depends on the job, drafting a contract from scratch versus reviewing a data room full of them, and how much of your work sits inside Indian execution mechanics that a UK-built analysis tool was never designed around.
What Luminance actually is
Luminance was founded in 2015 by mathematicians and AI researchers from the University of Cambridge, and is headquartered in Cambridge, UK. It raised a $75 million Series C in February 2025, led by Point72 Private Investments, taking total funding to roughly $165 to 168 million; it remains independently owned, with no acquisition or rename since. Eleanor Lightbody is CEO. Luminance runs on a proprietary legal large language model, trained substantially on legal documents from its early law-firm customers rather than adapted from a general-purpose model, which its marketing calls "Legal-Grade" AI.
The product is built around two core jobs. Diligence handles bulk document review: due diligence in M&A, real estate portfolios, regulatory compliance checks, and redaction, across more than 25 review types, with the AI pre-sorting and flagging documents before a lawyer opens them; Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co, one of India's largest law firms, reportedly halved the relevant document set in a data room within two hours of first use. Review applies the same engine to individual contracts: a traffic-light system flags clauses red, amber, or green against a playbook, and a "Legal-Grade" chatbot answers questions and summarises documents in plain language. On top of both sits Autonomous Negotiation (originally branded Autopilot), which can review a routine agreement such as a standard NDA, generate a markup against your playbook, and send it back to the counterparty without a lawyer driving every round, for genuinely low-risk, high-volume paper. Luminance integrates with document management systems iManage Work 10 and NetDocuments as certified connectors, and has built its Lumi assistant into Microsoft Word for in-place drafting and negotiation. Pricing is quote-only; third-party estimates put mid-size deployments at $40,000 to $60,000 a year and enterprise rollouts in the low-to-mid six figures, with implementation running weeks to months for playbook and clause-library configuration.
What Adira actually is
Adira is a browser-based, end-to-end contract lifecycle platform, not an add-on layered onto a document management system. Drafting, review, e-signing, e-stamping, a searchable repository, and obligation tracking sit inside one product, built on Anthropic's Claude, published by Clausio LLP at adiralaw.com. Its drafting differentiator is Company Persona: it grounds first-draft output in your own executed contracts and playbook positions, delivered as a structured, editable clause tree rather than flat generated text, detailed in what a company legal persona is. Adira publishes pricing rather than selling by quote: Practice runs $89 to $109 per seat per month, Firm runs $179 to $219, Enterprise is custom, each with a 7-day trial, last verified 4 September 2026 on adiralaw.com. It states it does not train models on customer contracts and claims coverage across 40-plus jurisdictions, India deepest. It has no equivalent to Luminance's specialised bulk-diligence engine or its nine-year head start training a proprietary model on real legal documents, and it does not currently offer certified iManage or NetDocuments connectors; that gap is real and worth saying before anything else here.
Drafting: Adira's job, not Luminance's core one
Luminance's Lumi assistant inside Microsoft Word can draft and negotiate contracts in place, but drafting sits on top of a platform built primarily for review and diligence, not as the product's original or headline job; its own market description leans on analysis and negotiation-assist over first-draft generation. Adira's entire architecture starts from drafting: Company Persona builds a house-style profile from your own precedent set, and the output is a clause tree you can accept, reject, or edit clause by clause rather than a block of generated prose, explained further in structured clause tree versus flat text. If the job is "generate a first draft that already sounds like our own lawyers wrote it," that is what Adira is built around. If the job is "understand what is actually in the 400 contracts already in this data room," Luminance's Diligence product is the more direct tool, and no comparison page should soften that.
Review and redline: two different depths of the same job
Both platforms do clause-level review, but at different scale and for different starting points. Luminance's traffic-light review and 25-plus diligence review types are built for volume: a data room, an existing repository, a portfolio of legacy contracts nobody has reread in years. That is a genuinely hard problem, and Luminance's specific strength, backed by a legal-document-trained model and years of enterprise deployment, is doing it fast and at scale. Adira's clause-by-clause review works against your stated playbook positions inside the same platform you draft in, suited to reviewing incoming counterparty paper on a live deal rather than triaging a historical archive. Neither vendor's output has been independently benchmarked by a third party on Indian-law contracts specifically; test both on a real, messy document, not a clean demo file, before trusting either.
Repository and obligations: a platform difference, not a feature gap
Luminance is not a system of record by design; it plugs into iManage or NetDocuments and analyses what already lives there, and public descriptions of the product are explicit that it is not a full CLM, so obligation tracking, renewal alerts, and a native repository are not its job. Adira is the repository: a standalone, searchable, structured clause tree with obligation and renewal tracking built into the same platform used for drafting and review. A team that trusts its document management system and wants an analysis layer on top fits Luminance's shape; a team that wants one platform for both drafting and tracking afterward fits Adira's.
E-signature and India execution: the part neither platform's diligence engine changes
An electronic signature is legally recognised in India under Section 5 of the Information Technology Act, 2000: "Where any law provides that information or any other matter shall be authenticated by affixing the signature or any document shall be signed or bear the signature of any person, then, notwithstanding anything contained in such law, such requirement shall be deemed to have been satisfied, if such information or matter is authenticated by means of electronic signature affixed in such manner as may be prescribed." Read Section 5 on Indian Kanoon. That governs signing, not stamping, and the two are separate steps. Section 35 of the Indian Stamp Act, 1899 states: "No instrument chargeable with duty shall be admitted in evidence for any purpose by any person having by law or consent of parties authority to receive evidence, or shall be acted upon, registered or authenticated by any such person or by any public officer, unless such instrument is duly stamped." Read Section 35 on Indian Kanoon. An e-signed contract that was never stamped, or was stamped in the wrong state, can be unusable as evidence in an Indian court, however good the underlying review or diligence work was.
Luminance is not an e-signature or execution platform at all; it analyses and negotiates documents up to the point of signature, then hands off to whatever e-sign and stamping process a customer already runs, typically through the document management system it is integrated with. That is a reasonable scope for a tool built around review and diligence, but it means the stamping question above sits entirely outside Luminance's product and squarely inside whichever tool you pair it with. Adira treats e-signature and e-stamping as a built-in part of its own execution flow for Indian counterparties, rather than a handoff to a separate system. If you run Luminance for diligence or review, ask directly what tool closes the loop from a reviewed document to a duly stamped, court-admissible one, because Luminance itself will not answer that question.
Data handling and AI training: read the actual policy, not the pitch
India's Digital Personal Data Protection Act, 2023 governs how any platform processing personal data of Indian data principals must handle it. Section 16(1) states: "The Central Government may, by notification, restrict the transfer of personal data by a Data Fiduciary for processing to such country or territory outside India as may be so notified." Read Section 16, DPDP Act, 2023 (official text, MeitY). As of writing, no country has been notified as restricted, so cross-border processing is broadly permitted under the Act itself. The constitutional root of the underlying obligation is Justice K.S. Puttaswamy (Retd) v Union of India, (2017) 10 SCC 1, where a nine-judge Supreme Court bench unanimously held privacy a fundamental right under Article 21. Read the judgment on Indian Kanoon.
This is worth stating plainly because the two vendors' histories differ here. Luminance's own public account of its early growth describes its first law-firm customers giving it access to some of their legal contracts to help train its AI, which is how a model trained specifically on legal documents, rather than adapted from a general-purpose one, came to exist in the first place; whether that historical training practice still applies to a new customer's live contract data today, or was limited to specific early design partners, is not spelled out in the public material found for this page. Luminance states customer data is stored on its own servers in Cambridge, UK. Ask directly, in writing, whether your specific contracts, uploaded today, are used in any way to train or fine-tune Luminance's model, and where exactly personal data inside them is hosted for an Indian customer. Adira states it does not train models on customer contracts and positions India as its deepest jurisdiction among 40-plus claimed. Neither company's current SOC 2 or ISO certification status for this specific point is independently verified here; get both answers in the order form, not a sales call.
Integrations: Luminance's real advantage for a document-management-first team
If your legal team already runs iManage Work 10 or NetDocuments as the system of record, Luminance's certified connectors auto-ingest new files for analysis without manual uploads, a genuine advantage for a large firm with that infrastructure in place, and its Lumi-in-Word integration keeps lawyers inside the editor they already draft in. Adira is a standalone web application with no equivalent packaged connectors into iManage or NetDocuments today. A team whose contracts already live inside a mature document management system, wanting analysis layered on top rather than a new home for the documents, should weigh this heavily in Luminance's favour.
Pricing and implementation
Luminance does not publish a rate card. Third-party estimates put mid-size deployments at $40,000 to $60,000 a year, with enterprise rollouts running into the low-to-mid six figures depending on user count, document volume, and modules purchased; implementation, including playbook configuration, clause-library mapping, and document-management-system integration, typically runs weeks to months. Adira's pricing is public: Practice $89 to $109 per seat per month, Firm $179 to $219, Enterprise on request, each with a 7-day trial, last verified 4 September 2026 on adiralaw.com, usable inside that trial without a mandatory implementation project.
Side-by-side: the full comparison matrix
| Job | Luminance | Adira |
|---|---|---|
| Drafting | Lumi in Microsoft Word; secondary to its review/diligence focus | Company Persona grounds drafts in your own contracts, playbook, clause tree |
| Review and redline | Traffic-light review, 25+ diligence review types, purpose-built legal LLM | Clause-level review against your clause tree and stated positions |
| Repository | Not a system of record by design; analyses documents inside iManage/NetDocuments | Standalone, searchable, structured clause tree, native to the platform |
| Obligations and renewals | Not a core feature; not marketed as a full CLM | Tracked within the standalone platform |
| E-sign and India execution | Not offered; hands off to whatever tool the customer already runs | E-sign plus e-stamping built into the execution flow |
| Integrations | Certified iManage Work 10 and NetDocuments connectors; Word add-in | Standalone; no equivalent packaged depth today |
| Data handling and AI training | UK-hosted (Cambridge); early training practice on law-firm customer contracts reported; current per-customer policy not fully public | States no training of models on customer contracts; India positioned deepest of 40+ jurisdictions |
| Pricing | Not published; quote-based; reported $40,000-$60,000/yr mid-size, low-to-mid six figures enterprise | Published: Practice $89-$109, Firm $179-$219, Enterprise custom, per seat/month |
| Implementation | Weeks to months (playbook, clause-library, DMS integration) | Usable inside a 7-day trial; no mandatory implementation project |
| Scale and track record | Founded 2015, $165M+ raised, 1,000+ organisations, 70 countries, Big Four and 25%+ of Global Top 100 law firms | Newer entrant, smaller published base, shorter track record |
Signs you are buying the wrong shape of tool
| Normal | Red flag | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Vendor states plainly whether the product is a full CLM or a review/diligence layer | "End-to-end contract lifecycle" claimed for a tool that hands off signing and stamping to something else | Buying a review engine expecting execution, or a CLM expecting bulk-diligence depth, sets up a second purchase later |
| A direct yes or no on whether your uploaded contracts are used to train or fine-tune the vendor's model | "Our AI is purpose-built for legal documents" with no answer on your own data's current use | A model trained on a company's early customer contracts is a different fact from a promise about your contracts today; ask about now, not history |
| Vendor explains, specifically, how a reviewed document gets stamped for India | Review and diligence output treated as the finish line, with signing and stamping left unaddressed | Under Section 35 of the Indian Stamp Act, an unstamped instrument can be inadmissible as evidence, regardless of how good the review was |
| Realistic implementation timeline given up front, tied to playbook and DMS integration complexity | "Live immediately" promised for a deployment that needs clause-library and playbook configuration | Weeks-to-months is what real diligence-platform configuration costs; a rushed promise usually means scope got cut |
| Pricing scoped clearly against document volume and user count on the first call | "Contact sales" with no ballpark at all, or a quote that grows after each demo | Quote-only enterprise pricing can range across an order of magnitude depending on volume and modules |
| Data residency for Indian customer data stated specifically, not answered by a general "we are secure" line | Location and hosting described only in general security marketing, not a specific jurisdiction | DPDP Act obligations attach to where and how personal data inside contracts is actually processed |
A bad AI-training clause, and a better one
Both vendors touch AI-model training in some form, one through its historical account of early customer data, the other through a current stated policy, which makes the actual contract language the thing to check rather than either company's marketing.
Bad (permissive, easy to rely on the wrong way): "Vendor may use Customer Data, including document content, to develop, train, and improve Vendor's products and services, including artificial intelligence and machine learning models."
What is wrong: "may use" is a standing permission, not a promise not to; "develop, train, and improve" covers almost anything the vendor wants to do with your documents, with no time limit once training has happened.
Better (a real prohibition, not a marketing line): "Vendor shall not use Customer Data, including document content or metadata, to train, fine-tune, or otherwise improve any artificial intelligence or machine learning model, whether for Vendor's own use or for any third party, and shall process Customer Data solely to provide the Services and as required by applicable law."
What changed and why: "may use" became "shall not," closing the permission rather than declining to exercise it; "fine-tune" was added because a vendor can avoid "training" a model from scratch while still fine-tuning one on your data, a gap plain "training" language leaves open; and data use is scoped narrowly to service delivery. You can mark up a clause like this yourself, free, in Weave, Adira's browser-based contract tool, before it goes near a signature, whichever vendor you end up with.
Which to pick, by buyer profile
Luminance fits you if the core job is bulk document review: an M&A data room, a real estate portfolio, a regulatory compliance sweep, or triaging a legacy contract archive that already lives inside iManage or NetDocuments, and you want a model trained specifically on legal documents rather than a general-purpose one. Its scale, 1,000-plus organisations, Big Four consultancies, and more than a quarter of the Global Top 100 law firms, is earned, not a marketing claim, and its India entry through Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co shows it can work on Indian-law documents at least at the diligence layer.
Adira fits you if most of your contracts sit under Indian law and you need the full loop, drafting through e-signature and e-stamping, inside one platform, you want published pricing before a sales call, and your team wants drafting grounded in your own house style through Company Persona rather than a document management system with an analysis layer bolted on.
A team running large-scale diligence work could reasonably run both: Luminance to triage and analyse an incoming set of legacy documents, Adira to draft, execute, and track everything created going forward. Whichever way you lean, do not stop at either vendor's own comparison page. Queries like "best CLM" or "Luminance alternatives" are better answered by third-party review sites like G2 and Capterra, where real customers rate their actual experience, than by any vendor's page, this one included. See also Luminance alternatives for a wider set of comparisons, and best contract management software 2026 for the full market view.
FAQ
Is Adira a direct Luminance competitor? Only partially. Luminance is built for bulk contract analysis and due diligence at scale, integrated into document management systems a customer already runs; Adira is a standalone, India-first platform built for drafting, review, and execution in one place. They overlap on clause-level review but are built for different starting jobs.
Has Luminance been acquired or renamed? No. It remains independently owned as of writing, having raised a $75 million Series C in February 2025 led by Point72 Private Investments, taking total funding to roughly $165 to 168 million.
Which is cheaper, Adira or Luminance? Almost certainly Adira for a small or mid-sized team, since its pricing is published and starts at $89 to $109 per seat per month. Luminance is quote-only, with third-party estimates around $40,000 to $60,000 a year for a mid-size deployment and low-to-mid six figures for enterprise rollouts.
Does Luminance handle Indian stamp duty and e-stamping? No. Luminance is a review and diligence platform, not an execution or e-signature tool; stamping and signing happen outside it, typically through whichever document management or signing system a customer already runs. Under Section 35 of the Indian Stamp Act, 1899, an unstamped chargeable instrument can be inadmissible in evidence regardless of how the underlying review was done.
Does Luminance train its AI on customer contracts? Luminance's own public account of its early growth describes its first law-firm customers giving it access to some contracts to help train its purpose-built legal AI model. Whether that practice applies to a new customer's contracts uploaded today is not stated clearly in the public material reviewed for this page; ask directly and get the answer written into the order form rather than relying on general "Legal-Grade AI" marketing.
Can I try either tool before committing? Adira offers a 7-day trial, and you can test a real clause free in Weave without creating an account. Luminance does not publish a self-serve trial; expect a guided demo and a proof-of-concept phase as part of its enterprise sales process.
This page compares Luminance and Adira on public information as of September 2026, disclosed as written by Adira, a competing product. Vendor pricing, ownership, and product scope change, so confirm current details directly with each company, and current review sentiment on G2 or Capterra, before buying, since queries like "best" or "alternatives" are generally better answered by dated, third-party reviews than by any single vendor's comparison page. Nothing here is legal advice on whether a specific contract, clause, or execution process is valid or admissible in your situation; it states the general statutory position, not your specific facts, and a qualified Indian lawyer should review anything you are about to sign.
Frequently asked questions
- Is Adira a direct Luminance competitor?
- Only partially. Luminance is built for bulk contract analysis and due diligence at scale, integrated into document management systems a customer already runs; Adira is a standalone, India-first platform built for drafting, review, and execution in one place. They overlap on clause-level review but are built for different starting jobs.
- Has Luminance been acquired or renamed?
- No. It remains independently owned as of writing, having raised a $75 million Series C in February 2025 led by Point72 Private Investments, taking total funding to roughly $165 to 168 million.
- Which is cheaper, Adira or Luminance?
- Almost certainly Adira for a small or mid-sized team, since its pricing is published and starts at $89 to $109 per seat per month. Luminance is quote-only, with third-party estimates around $40,000 to $60,000 a year for a mid-size deployment and low-to-mid six figures for enterprise rollouts.
- Does Luminance handle Indian stamp duty and e-stamping?
- No. Luminance is a review and diligence platform, not an execution or e-signature tool; stamping and signing happen outside it, typically through whichever document management or signing system a customer already runs. Under Section 35 of the Indian Stamp Act, 1899, an unstamped chargeable instrument can be inadmissible in evidence regardless of how the underlying review was done.
- Does Luminance train its AI on customer contracts?
- Luminance's own public account of its early growth describes its first law-firm customers giving it access to some contracts to help train its purpose-built legal AI model. Whether that practice applies to a new customer's contracts uploaded today is not stated clearly in the public material reviewed for this page; ask directly and get the answer written into the order form rather than relying on general 'Legal-Grade AI' marketing.
- Can I try either tool before committing?
- Adira offers a 7-day trial, and you can test a real clause free in Weave without creating an account. Luminance does not publish a self-serve trial; expect a guided demo and a proof-of-concept phase as part of its enterprise sales process.
Sources
- Section 5, Information Technology Act, 2000 (Indian Kanoon)
- Section 35, Indian Stamp Act, 1899 (Indian Kanoon)
- Section 16, Digital Personal Data Protection Act, 2023 (official Act text, MeitY)
- Justice K.S. Puttaswamy (Retd) vs Union of India, Supreme Court of India, (2017) 10 SCC 1
- Legal tech startup Luminance, backed by the late Mike Lynch, raises $75M Series C (TechCrunch, Feb 2025)
- Luminance expands into India with Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co (Luminance official press release)
- About Us (Luminance official, company background)
- Luminance Pricing 2026: Full Cost Breakdown (Bind Legal)
- Luminance Review 2026: An Honest Assessment for In-House Counsel (Vaquill)
- Adira pricing plans (official, Practice/Firm/Enterprise)
- Companion page: Luminance alternatives
- Companion page: Best contract management software 2026
See how Adira drafts in your voice and reads contracts from your side.
Explore the showroomWorking through a contract like this? Weave is Adira’s free tool to read, mark up, and connect any contract in your browser — no account needed.
Try Weave — free